How to Wipe Your Data When You Sell Old Macbook Pro

 

If you’re looking to sell old Macbook Pro or any used Apple product, it’s a good idea to wipe data from it before letting it go. This ensures that no one else can access any of your personal information and make use of it against you later. Let’s see how we can do this.

How to Wipe Your Old Macbook Pro

Step 1: Connect your Macbook Pro to iTunes and update it to the latest version. Leave iTunes running while you continue with the rest of the steps, as it will automatically sync your Macbook Pro.

Step 2: Now open the Disk Utility app from Applications/Utilities. In the left pane, you’ll see a list of connected drives on your Macbook Pro.

Step 3: Select the drive that contains the data to wipe off and then click Erase in the right pane.

Step 4: Now that you’ve selected the drive to erase, choose a method. The default Erase option is “Secure Erase,” a complicated process that securely deletes all data from the drive with no chance of recovery.

Step 5: Click Erase to start the disk wipe process and then confirm your choice if prompted. That’s it! It doesn’t take very long for the process to finish, but you can quit iTunes and wait for it to restart by itself.

Wipe Today and Avoid Data Disaster

This is a basic, simple way to wipe data from your Macbook Pro before selling it off or giving it away. Follow these steps before you sell old Macbook Pro that contains sensitive info, and make sure that no one can access it later! Contact SellMyMac today.

Be the first to like.
Share

    Author: Kendrick Wilkes

    Share This Post On

    Pin It on Pinterest

    Shares